Washington State DUI Prior Offenses Defined

By Garth O'Brien | November 10, 2007 
Filed Under DUI

The State of Washington, like most states across the country, requires mandatory DUI Penalties for every DUI conviction. You will receive jail, a license suspension, a steep fine and various probation conditions. This includes citizens with absolutely no criminal history.

The State of Washington has a DUI Penalty Schedule. The DUI Penalty Schedule determines how much minimum punishment is necessary for each DUI conviction. The amount of prior DUI convictions significantly increases the mandatory punishment. The State of Washington looks back seven years from the date of your DUI arrest. If there are prior convictions for Vehicular Homicide, Vehicular Assault, DUI or Physical Control, or if you have entered into a Deferred Prosecution, these will count as priors.

Priors also include any conviction of an amended criminal charge of Reckless Driving, Reckless Endangerment or Negligent Driving in the First Degree if the original charge was DUI or Physical Control.

A judge has the discretion to impose the maximum penalty of 365 days in jail and a $5,000.00 fine for a DUI conviction. The judge does not have discretion when it comes to the mandatory minimum DUI penalties.

DUI Blog Comments

Comments are closed.