A Washington Reckless Driving Conviction Will Suspend Your Driver’s License

By Garth O'Brien | December 4, 2006 
Filed Under DUI

That State of Washington enforces a criminal traffic law of Reckless Driving. Such a guilty conviction for the crime of Reckless Driving will result in a driver license suspension.

Reckless Driving is defined as:

(1) Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving. Violation of the provisions of this section is a gross misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment of not more than one year and by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars.

RCW 46.61.500

Many drivers originally charged with the crime of Driving Under the Influence will enter a plea of guilty before trial to a lesser charge. Often times the lesser charge is Reckless Driving.

Reckless Driving has a maximum penalty of 365 days in jail and a $5,000.00 fine. In addition to these potential penalties, the court is required to notify the Washington State Deparment of Licensing (DOL) about the Reckless Driving conviction. When DOL learns of this conviction it will trigger a 30 day license suspension:

(2) The license or permit to drive or any nonresident privilege of any person convicted of reckless driving shall be suspended by the department for not less than thirty days.

RCW 46.61.500

A driver serving this suspension may qualify for an Occupational / Temporary Restricted License.

DUI Blog Comments

Comments are closed.